Operating a motorcycle can be both an exhilarating and dangerous experience. It is crucial for motorcyclists to follow all relevant laws in the state of New Mexico. Failing to do so could jeopardize the safety of not only the motorcyclist and their passengers but also others on the roadway. Here, we want to examine motorcycle laws specific to NM so that you understand what needs to be done to keep yourself and others safe and avoid needing an Albuquerque accident lawyer.Â Â
New Mexico Motorcycle Laws
- Motorcycle License Requirements. Individuals who want to receive a motorcycle license must complete a written test and a road test OR they must complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation basic rider course.
- Motorcycles and Helmets in New Mexico. In New Mexico, any motorcycle rider or passenger under the age of 18 is required to wear a helmet. Those aged 18 or older do not have to wear a helmet under current laws. However, we strongly recommend that all motorcycle riders in New Mexico wear helmets to remain safe on the roadway.
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements. In New Mexico, motorcyclists must show financial responsibility in the form of insurance. The state minimum policies call for $25,000 in coverage for bodily injury or death to one individual, $50,000 in coverage for bodily injury or death for more than one individual, and $10,000 in coverage for property damage expenses.
- Wearing Eye Protection. According to New Mexico law, individuals must wear eye protection if they do not have a motorcycle with a fixed windshield. This includes approved face shields on a safety helmet, goggles, or safety eyeglasses.
- Passengers Footrests. If a motorcycle has a passenger seat, a passenger must have footrests to place their feet.
- Passenger Ages. There is no current age restriction on motorcycle passengers, but any rider under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.
- Helmet Speakers. There are no restrictions on helmet speakers. Many helmets now have speakers built-in for the purpose of hands-free communication to enhance safety on the roadway.
- Riding Two-Abreast. In Arizona, the practice of two riders operating side by side in the same lane is generally accepted. However, riding two abreast is not referenced in state statutes.
- Lane splitting. The practice of lane splitting, which occurs when a motorcycle rides down the center lane of traffic, is not legal in any state except for California.
- Out-of-state Licenses. Out-of-state motorcycle licenses are accepted in the state of New Mexico.
Working With an Attorney After an Accident
In the event you are a loved one sustained an injury in a motorcycle accident caused by the actions of another driver, you need to work with an Albuquerque motorcycle accident attorney as soon as possible. The reality is that securing compensation as a motorcyclist is more challenging. Other parties involved, including insurance carriers, often have unwarranted negative biases against motorcyclists. This can complicate the insurance claim process, even if another driver caused the accident. A skilled motorcycle accident lawyer in New Mexico can help handle every aspect of the claim on your behalf, including investigating the incident, gathering evidence, and handling all communication with insurance carriers.